Ahhh….jet lag. Thankfully it’s not been soooo bad but definitely strange. I woke up at 5:30am Sunday morning and last night I accidentally fell asleep at 9pm and now it’s 2:30am and I am wide awake. It’ll be back to normal soon, though. I wanted to write a quick post and mention how absolutely marvellous my first weekend back has been.

It started out by waking up super early Saturday morning and heading to Japanese class at the local community center. I was giddy-happy to be immersed in Japanese again – it is  so much fun speaking and hearing it! We studied a bunch of grammatical points, did a bunch of book exercises,  and made sample sentences with the teacher. My classmates are from Vietnam, Brazil, China, and Iran! Spent Saturday with the Cummings family (it was so much fun holding their new baby boy and hang out with  Matt’s mom Edie Cummings), went to church at the Green Chapel Sunday morning and All Nations Fellowship Sunday afternoon, and fell into bed early! What a fun weekend!

People back home kept asking me what I do here. I don’t have a set 9-5 job, but I do a bunch of little things that add up. So, here’s the “to do” list for the winter:

1) teach three english classses per week 2) study Japanese like crazy on my own plus attend several Japanese classes 3) attend weekly All Nations Fellowship and Christ Bible Seminary staff meetings 4) teach Japaneses to three friends who are beginners 5) teach a monthly kids’ English class at the Green Chapel 6) have people over for a meal at least once a week 7) prepare for and teach Sunday school every week at All Nations Fellowship (today I had 13 kids!) 8. babysit when needed for the principal of ICAN (the International Christian Academy of Nagoya) 9) try and help my neighbors, the Cummings, whenever I can(they had their third child about 10 days ago)  10) meet with college girls and lots of new friends for coffee to just chat and hang out (Starbucks is almost always the meeting place of choice) 11) tutor a fifth-grade girl in reading and Bible every week

Plus whatever else I am asked to do!

I am soooooooooooo glad to be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

