It’s taken me a while to get online this past week to update my blog- I thought my computer had totally crashed but it actually was rejecting the new virus program I had installed. It’s GREAT to have my laptop back and working again. Things are going well here and I am keeping busy. I am getting ready to start up Japanese lessons again after a very, very long break. I received word that I passed the Japanese language proficiency test (level 3) and am gearing up for level 2. I love my new apartment and am thankful to be living here. The weather here has been remarkably warm and I am very thankful for that as well although today is a bit cold.

This little sweetheart named Yuzuri is the daughter of a Christ Bible seminary student and his wife – she was being so adorable that I had to take a video!

It’s been a fun week. I attended a lovely baby shower last week for Megumi Oba, whose husband Taka is a 2007 Christ Bible seminary graduate – the first and only graduate thus far!

february-2009-0012

(Megumi on left with Reiko W.)

february-2009-0141

Pearl, Juliet, Haruna, Reiko, and Megumi

february-2009-008

Reiko and Megumi

My new roommate Deb and I had a fun Valentine’s Day party on Friday night. We invited our teacher friends from ICAN, the International Christian school of Nagoya and my old roommate Haruna. I was very astounded that I could read the directions on several packages so I could make some yummy Japanese dishes. We also made sushi rolls with avocado, crab, cucumber sticks, and cream cheese.

february-2009-part-ii-005

Yisel (from Uruguay) and Deb (my new roommate)

february-2009-part-ii-003

Nobuyo and Haruna making the sushi rolls

february-2009-part-ii-010

Proudly displaying my homemade heart-shaped brownie

february-2009-part-ii-008

Nobuyo showed off her creative side by making a heart made from crab, avocado, and rice.

february-2009-part-ii-013

Group shot!

On Saturday I went to Matt and Annette Cummings’ place to eat dinner and Matt’s mom Edie had made a heart-shaped meatloaf with red sauce plus PINK mashed potatoes and heart-shaped jello!!

february-2009-part-ii-014

Karissa with the mashed potatoes

february-2009-part-ii-015

another shot of the dinner

february-2009-part-ii-017

The Green Chapel kids (I THINK) are starting to warm up to me these days, perhaps since I decided to go there every week.  On Sunday Seiru and Miku were being super cuddly as well as Yoshi, another cutie pie at church. During the kids’ Bible story I had two little guys on my lap. So fun!

february-2009-part-ii-016

february-2009-part-ii-019

Luncheon after church

yoshi-with-hat

Yoshi being soooo cute and wearing MY hat!

