I arrived back to Nagoya this morning after wonderful, refreshing, delightful  nine-day trip to Sendai, Fukushima, and Yamagata (in the northern part of Japan). I went by overnight bus which is the cheapest way to get from Nagoya to Sendai and back. I really can’t capture in words how blessed I was during this trip – I loved being with a ton of beloved, old friends and laughed so hard I cried, ate a TON of delictable Japanese food, and watched a lot of goofy Japanese TV. I got to see and do a ton of things and enjoyed long, relaxing chats with old friends. I left feeling like I want to go back to there again…even live there. But I doubt that is possible; at the very least, I hope to be able to visit there regularly for many years to come.

One nice thing: While I missed the cherry blossoms in Sendai they are in full bloom here in Nagoya so I am thankful I got to see all the pink beauty! I will go out and take photos of the cherry blossoms tomorrow.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-005

Here I am with my former Japanese teacher Junko (in red) and her mother Ai, a FABULOUS cook!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-002

Ai with her delicious okonomiyaki, a Japanese pancake

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-009

With dear friends Kikuko (my former host mother), Suk Hui (from Korea), and Edie Cummings (dear missionary friend)

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-014

Being silly with Kikuko, wearing our masks (Japanese wear masks when they have a cold or to prevent one).

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-032

My former host brother (who I call my Japanese little brother) Yotaro being cool

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-049

I got to see and do a lot of things – I got to go to a butterfly exhibition and loved it! They were so beautiful and lovely to see.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-053

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-077

Here I am with two of my favorite English students, Eiko and Yuko  – what goofy, sweet ladies. I had fun chatting and laughing it up with them for over three hours over dinner.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-080

Eiko tried to set me up with her 32-year old son in Tokyo which was a source of a lot of laughter. She even went so far as to give me his email and phone number but I won’t be following up. 🙂 

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-109

I headed to Fukushima next – I met my friend Ai and her children. I met Ai in Philadelphia and taught her English. I especially hit it off with 8 year-old Kanade, an energetic, smart, and affectionate little girl.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-088

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-093

Doing karaoke in the car

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-091

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-105

Wonderful soba dinner with Ai and her family

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-103

Kanade and her soba noodles

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-097

While we were out we saw a display of needlepoint. Can you believe this is needlepoint? It looks like a real painting!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-100

Needlepoint #2

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-098

Needlepoint #3 – gorgeous!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-111

Stopped by Eiko Church Sunday morning

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-116

Had tea with a friend Sunday afternoon

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-123

Met old students for dinner Sunday night

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-120

Delictable dinner of sashimi over ice (raw rish)

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-119

Yakitori – chicken on a stick

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-125

I went for a drive with wonderful friends near Zao mountain.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-131

We stopped at a foot spa on the way and soaked our feet in the water for a while.

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-138

We passed by a giant carton of milk on the way!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-140

Stopped to eat soba at a delightful place out in the middle of nowhere!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-144

We enjoyed a fabulous sushi dinner!!!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-150

Group shot – Kankako, Atsuo, me, and Atsuo’s sweet Uncle Tadamichi

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-145

For dessert we had delicious egg custard baked into these egg shells!

trip-to-sendai-april-2009-158

Last night I met an old friend, Roberto, from Mexico and Cal and Edie Cummings, missionaries to Japan. I had a wonderful dinner with them and enjoyed catching up!

I have to get to bed but I couldn’t before posting photos and expressing my thankfulness for such an incredible trip. I can hardly wait for my next trip to Sendai, a place with is my home away from home here in Japan. In a few days I will post a bunch of photos of silly t-shirts and signs I saw during my trip – very funny! Oyasuminasai (good night in Japanese).

