God has been good to me as I readjust to life back in to the U.S. It hasn’t always been easy but there have been so many happy reunions and I LOVE being with family.

Since I left for Japan, friends have married, babies have been born, children have grown, and life has moved on. A part of me feels sadness that I missed so many special events but being in Japan was an amazing experience and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Naturally, after my family, I feel most at home with my Japanese friends. They help make the transition much easier and I love being with this family in particular.

DSCN6422

Yume and her mom

DSCN6418

Two of my favorite kids

4-up on 2009-10-17 at 19.20 #5

Having fun with my MacBook

I also got to attend my niece’s wedding last weekend. Most of my photos turned out terribly but I took a few nice shots with my family.

DSCN6447

With my littlest niece

DSCN6463

My niece Rachel on her big day

DSCN6440

The beautifully arranged tables

DSCN6487

The wedding cake

DSCN6495

The delicious wedding banquet dinner – steak!

DSCN6450

This is a GIANT blob of wasabi – I was so shocked I took a photo. For Japanese people or anyone who has lived in Japan, this is WEIRD!

DSCN6437

Nice shot with my mom and dad (but dad looks so serious for some reason)

DSCN6519

I LOVED being with my Mexican friends and their little girl Zara Sofia. They called her “Sofi” for short.

DSCN6523

DSCN6518

Sofi with her gift – a fancy Japanese mirror

DSCN6543

Wonderful chicken dinner with my dear friends, John & Christy

DSCN6589

This wonderful couple invited me for lunch…

DSCN6579

Mrs. Diaz prepared this amazing lunch!

DSCN6578

It tasted as good as it looked!

I spent some time with my 91-year old grandmother yesterday. Her dementia is quite severe and she doesn’t always remember my name; thankfully, she recognizes my face and smiles at me a lot. It was amazing to think about her different things were when she was young. My grandma was born in 1918, got married when she was 18 years old to her 19-year old husband, had two little twin girls a years later, another son a year after that, and one more boy a year and a half later. So, by the time she  was 23 years old, she had four children age four and under! It’s so interesting to hear about your family history, isn’t it?

RSCN6568

I look forward to many more happy reunions with friends although I do miss my friends in Japan very much!

