I’ve been back from Japan for about a month now. It seems like much longer than that. Sometimes I wonder if my 17 months in Japan were just a dream. I know they weren’t but sometimes it feels that way. I wish I could say that I am adjusted back to life here but I would be lying if I said that. I am not sure I ever really “readjusted” since the first time I came back from Japan in 2003. I’ve always wanted to be back in Japan and still do. As for the future, I am hoping to go back to Japan but determined to enjoy my time in the U.S. as long as I am here.

I am so excited that Matthias will be here in only three weeks! He will be here for Thanksgiving and will spend two weeks here in New Jersey. We plan to go to New York City, Lancaster, and visit his American host family from many years ago. He was a high school exchange student in western Pennsylvania during his senior year. After that I am going to GERMANY!!! I am soooo excited! I leave December 28th and will celebrate Matthias’ birthday and New Year’s with his family. I am also learning German very seriously and am enjoying it very much. It’s hard to pronounce but I am doing my best to learn as much as possible.

with m

Matthias and I

Well, I haven’t been taking SO many photos but here are a few I have taken this past week.

DSCN6642

I continue to enjoy lots of happy reunions with friends. I hung out with my friend Liz the other day and we went to Sabrina’s in South Philly.

DSCN6643

She ordered their famous stuffed french toast…

DSCN6644

and I ordered an omelette. I was astounded by the HUGE American-sized food portions.

DSCN6634

Matchmaker SUCCESS!! My friends Aaron and Nicole recently got married. Guess who introduced them? Me! I am so happy my first and only matchmaking attempt worked out. They are SOOOOO happy!

DSCN6614

Aren’t they adorable?

I went to a Halloween parade in West Philly yesterday. I took so many photos but will post them later. I am glad to be home, hoping to be back in Japan again one day, and thankful for all the friends God has given me.

DSCN6646

I like this shot of the sunset in North Philly taken at my friend’s house.

