I just saw this on Joshua Harris’ blog and got a smile.

Lazarus’ Second Funeral

Anyway, we have been in Berlin for one week. It’s been a good week, but it’s been especially hard to be away from my parents after seeing them every day for the past month. My dad’s Alzheimer’s is progressing quite rapidly, and I think about my parents day in and day out. I wish I could be there to help drive my parents to their appointments, cook meals, help them around the house, etc. I have been doing lots of research online about Alzheimer’s and I am trying to explain what I am learning to my mother on the phone in a way she can easily understand. I think that I am relatively young to be thinking about my father’s life coming to an end, but it’s something that everyone deals with at one time or another. It is so painful to see someone who was so strong and vibrant deteriorate before your eyes and realize that until I get to heaven, I won’t see him strong and healthy like I once knew him. It reminds me of Joni Eareckson Tada, who has been a quadriplegic for 30+ years, who says that when she gets to heaven she will “pole vault the pearly gates!” I suppose the hardest thing of all is to think that our future children probably won’t have a chance to know their grandfather. Hopefully, dad will be around to hold our children while they are small if we get started soon! 🙂

Besides thinking about my parents, Matthias and I are also thinking a lot about our possible return to Japan. We have an important meeting this coming weekend which might help us discern if we can or will go back to Japan next year. We don’t know much except that we will be in Berlin for 6-8 months. After that, we will either stay in Berlin for a while, return to Japan next year, or go back to the US in the near future to help take care of my parents. I suppose ideally I would like to take care of my parents, but that would mean that Matthias would need a visa to stay in the US and a job as well. We trust God will guide us where he wants us, but we do so hope that one day we’ll go back to Japan for a few years in God’s timing.

We’ve also been doing a lot of thinking about FOOD and eating habits. During our trip to the US, we were truly stunned by how UNBELIEVABLY unhealthy American food was in general – it is processed, fake, and not even all that tasty. It was even more shocking to see how unhealthy and overweight many Americans are compared to Germans and Japanese. Food-wise, I am glad to be back in Germany because the food is much tastier and the quality is much better. Last night, we watched a great documentary about food called “Food Matters.” I learned so much about how important it is to have a lifestyle of healthy eating and how so many diseases in the US are directly linked to unhealthy eating habits. I highly recommend this documentary to anyone who cares about what you put in your body! After all, you are what you eat.

Here are some photos from the past few weeks:

Matthias and Jeremy S. in front of the Reichstag

Vegetarian Indian food in NYC – this was as good as it looks!

Our living room is painted in the colors of the German flag!

 

We helped these two sweet Japanese ladies who were lost on the subway – in return they treated us to lunch and gave us presents!

