It’s almost official – we will most likely be leaving Berlin at the end of this month. I am very thankful that I was able to get out of my work contract at the English school I’ve been working at – of course I’ll miss the children terribly, but I am very thankful that I can leave the job without causing any trouble (not an easy thing to do when you sign a contract in Germany). We’ll be getting a phone call from the company boss today to confirm I can really leave my job…hopefully he won’t change his mind!

Did you notice how international the classes are? I have a Chinese student, a half German- half Indonesian kid, a Filipina girl, etc. I’m going to miss these adorable kids! They’ve taught me a lot of German, by the way.

In May, we are still hoping that Matthias or possibly the both of us will be able to travel to Japan to help with relief work. I read last night that CRASH, one of the main organizations doing relief work is calling for more volunteers:

We need more volunteers in the CRASH HQ in Tokyo ~ we have all been going strong for over a month now and need your help. If you can help with data entry, administration, record keeping, secretarial work or volunteer coordination please apply soon.

Of course, I would LOVE to help in any way possible that helps get volunteers to the places that need help. I hope so much that God opens a door for us to go to Japan for at least a few weeks to help.

This Sunday April 17th marks our FIRST wedding anniversary (wow, did the year fly by) and I will turn 34 on May 2nd. I don’t believe I am going to be 34 years old! The coming year holds so much in store – spending the summer in the US and enjoying time my family and friends, preparing to go back to Japan in early 2012, and maybe we’ll be able to start growing our family! I don’t feel the need to hide the fact that we’d love to at least be expecting a child by the end of the year – it’s soooo hard to imagine being a mom.

As for this summer, we are hoping to rent a room at a friend’s home in West Philly – we are so used to life in the city that we’d prefer to live in Philly than NJ. We might be living near 37th and Baring Street – I can’t wait to be back in the USA!

As for German studies, I’ve been a complete bum. I’ve been cutting class quite a lot, but I had the idea to try speaking only German for 30 minutes a day and gradually increase the minutes as I get more comfortable. Matthias is quite patient with me and corrects my many mistakes very sweetly. I really do like German – it’s not as difficult as I had originally thought. The grammar is very tricky, but I’m finding in some ways, it’s such a fun language to learn. I’m in for the long haul – I expect to be learning German the rest of my life and hopefully our future kids will be able to learn German…and English and Japanese!

