I just got back from playing with the kids at the evacuation center. The weather was marvelous and we played outside for a while and also played table tennis, Othello, ran some races, and did origami. For the first time, I chatted with one of the moms for a while. I hope that I can talk to her again, but I don’t want to bother the people there too much.

In the last 24 hours we’ve had a lot of long conversations with various groups, including the team leaders here at World Vision, Samaritan’s Purse, Peace Boat, and various other groups. It is great to see all the work going on but sad to think that minutes away people who have lost everything are living in a school gym with baths only twice a week and very little space or privacy. The government is working on temporary housing but it might take up to a year for everyone to be out of these evacuation centers.

Here are some photos from the past week!

Playing the keyboard with some of the girls

A well-known character named Shima-jirou came to visit the kids

There were lots of kids and they had a blast!

With “Princess Catherine” at the kids’ event with Shima-jirou

The English on her shirt was too funny!

Playing sports with the older girls

Later I will try to post more photos of the disaster area. We have taken so many photos and I haven’t even really looked at them yet. It’s so hard to believe what I have seen with my own two eyes. It almost feels like a dream but I am sure it is very, very real.

