A familiar sight for Matthias, me in an airport

We arrived in Matthias’ hometown Thursday afternoon after an exhausting trip. Can I just mention that the prices in the Moscow airport are simply outrageous? I mean, $7.15 for a small cup of coffee? Come on, Russia! From start to finish, the whole trip took about 20 hours. Today is the first day I haven’t felt like a jet-lagged zombie, so I’ll attempt to write a bit. What’s on my mind?

First off, this part of Germany is simply breathtaking. It’s so gorgeous here that I think I’m in heaven. It’s quite a change from wild and crazy Tokyo, but I’m enjoying a chance to relax, reflect, take long walks, and do a lot of journaling. Second, my mother-in-law is a brilliant cook. She always serves wonderful, home-cooked meals that are so yummy I feel like I’m in a food paradise. Yesterday’s lunch was boiled white asparagus with buttery Hollandaise sauce, German potatoes, salad from the garden, and fresh ham.  Today’s breakfast was a basket of wonderful assorted breads, eggs, and deli meats with fresh juice. She also served thin chocolate bars to put on top of the bread – so very yummy!

Third, I adore my Kindle. It was a lifesaver during those hours that dragged on forever such as waiting for takeoff and landing, waiting three hours for our connecting flight from Moscow to Frankfurt, waiting for the trains, etc. I bought a few easy reads, three $2.99 bargain buys on the “Kindle Summer Reading Sale,” and have finished two already. (Sorry, folks, the sale is over.)

I read “Life from Scratch” by Melissa Ford and “The Scarlet Thread” by Francine Rivers. The first book was about the life of a lovable, brokenhearted 34- year old divorcee learning how to cook and blogging through her troubles. I laughed out loud SOOO many times and I found the writing style really breezy and fun without being too fluffy. The second was a painful read about a crumbling marriage shattered by adultery and miraculously salvaged at the end (among other things but that’s my personal summary). I thought that “The Scarlet Thread” got a tad bit cheesy in the second half, but the description of the couple’s crumbling marriage was really vivid and powerful.  To be more specific,  the latter half seemed a bit fake considering the gravity of adultery and the very deep and serious problems that couple had. However, I really appreciated how both books painted a realistic portrait of how a marriage can start out well and go downhill through lack of solid communication.

Reading decent fiction rekindled my lifelong desire to write a novel, or series of novels, for teenagers. I’ve been wanting to do this since I was 12 years old. In junior high, I used to write mini-novels for kids my own age. Maybe someday I’ll get around to doing it. Somehow, I’m sure the novel will be set in Japan. 🙂 There are a lot of things on my “to do list.” Writing a novel is one, going back to college is another.

More random thoughts. As always, I’m thinking about Japan and my parents’ failing health. My dad was hospitalized the other day and my mom is practically having a nervous breakdown. At the same time, regarding a return to Japan, it seems more and more likely we will be able to go to Sendai as early as next February 2012. As badly as we want to be back in Japan, I keep reminding myself that we can’t make any decisions until we see how my parents are doing and always keep in mind that God might be gently asking us to consider caring for them for a season. Thank God, I have peace about whatever we wind up doing and I’m not the anxious control freak that that I naturally tend to be.

Yesterday, Matthias and I discussed in depth that I am not the kind of woman who could live in the same place for 20+ years like our beloved moms. I’d get bored. I’m quite restless and so is he. We thrive on change, on travelling, on making sure things never get boring in our lives. Maybe we’re nuts, I cannot say. We’ve literally been all over the world since we got married and we’re moving again in ten days. We’ve either traveled to or lived in the following places: Costa Rica, El Salvador, southwest Germany, England, Scotland, Japan, and Berlin. We’re currently in Neuried, then we’ll go to Philadelphia until September, then Ewersbach, and then possibly Japan or NJ to care for my family. And yes, we like it this way.

If we have kids, I don’t think we’ll travel as much but we’ll still be moving around a lot. I wish we could skip from the infant stage to age 3-4 simply because I dread the thought of a shrieking baby on the flight not to mention the prospect of little or no sleep for 20 hours or more. Did I mention the thought of lugging around kids and suitcases when I’m a jet-lagged wreck makes me ill?  Eek. There were quite a few shrieking babies on this last flight from Tokyo…a glimpse of things to come? I sure hope not.

Speaking of kids, meeting our friends in Nagoya who adopted a Japanese baby got some wheels turning in my head.  For the first time ever, the thought of adopting a Japanese baby crossed my mind. As I have mentioned before, we are totally open to adopting, but not because we can’t conceive a baby. As far as I know, we’re perfectly healthy and able to have babies. However, honestly speaking, the idea of being infertile doesn’t freak me out that much. Of course, it would be painful if we could never have a baby naturally, but at the same time, I know adoption is a wonderful option. I mean, if my mom had been able to conceive, she and my dad never would have adopted me! Thanks to the “blessing” of my parents’ infertility, I got adopted by them and now we’re thinking of adopting kids one day. We’ll see. We’d have to be living in Japan to adopt a Japanese baby, and that day might be far off (or near, only God knows).

Anyway, pardon the jumping all over the place in this blog entry. I’ll blame jet lag for that. I hope this spell of jet lag wears off before we leave Germany. No worries, I’ll be jet-lagged all over again in New Jersey. Oh, the joys of being a world traveler.

