Definition of “blog”:
-A web site on which an individual or group of users record opinions, information, etc. on a regular basis.
-A website containing the writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other Web sites.

I check about six or seven blogs quite regularly.  What makes these particular blogs interesting for me is 1) they are updated very regularly and 2) always contain thoughtful reflections about the complexities of life. Also, most of my favorite blogs always have lots of pictures.

To be honest, these days I do not “feel” like keeping up my blog, especially since I don’t think my life is very interesting and I also haven’t got a clue who is actually reading my blog. I have been thinking about why people blog and I suspect that for many people it serves as an outlet (to release “the pent-up torrent of words that overflow my life” writes one blogger). When I was living in Japan and would update my blog each week, I did little more than upload 10-20+ pictures, write captions underneath, and write two or three sentences about what’s been going on in my life. I was really motivated to update my blog because I knew friends back home were reading it. I truly loved hearing, “I enjoy reading your blog. It’s always so nice to see what you’re up to in Japan.” Now that I live in a tiny village in Germany, it’s not as easy to think up things to write about.

It’s a little scary to think that you can write about anything on a blog. Common posts that I see often include recipes, anecdotes about one’s children, photos of those children, thoughts and or reflections on a serious topic, descriptions of family vacations, book reviews, video uploads, funny stories, etc. There’s also usually a ticker to show the world how many people look at your blog. One can make lots of money from your blog if you generate enough traffic or recommend books on your blog. Another “fun” feature is the comments section. I always get positive, encouraging, and funny comments but whenever I check out one of my favorite blogs, there is usually quite a heated discussion/ debate going on in the comments section. I can’t imagine allowing my blog to become a forum for people to air their varied opinions…very strange!

Blogging is so different from other written forms of communication. Unlike letters, emails, and texting the reader is usually unknown. It’s definitely a little weird to know that total strangers are reading my blog (it doesn’t bother me so much but it’s still a little strange). Incidentally, I realized a while ago that most of the people who look at my blog probably look at just one entry called, “My trip to Osaka.” When you Google “Osaka” my blog appears. I get many visits each day from Google.

Frankly, blogging makes me miss Japan. I always have something to write about in Japan. There’s always something crazy, bizarre, interesting, funny, captivating, and/ or super weird happening when we are there. I enjoy writing about Japan on my blog and I hope to do so for many years to come. I’m rather looking forward to being back in Japan where I can simply post a gazillion photos, add captions, and that’s it (because I am a lazy blogger). Life is simple now. I spend most of my time being a homemaker, cooking, studying Japanese, reading myriads of wonderful books, and learning a little German. Hopefully as we make plans to go back to Japan there will more to write about. Until then, thanks for reading and keep on checking my blog if you would like.

