Tags

I recently heard about these interesting videos about TCKs and thought I’d share them both. From Wikipedia: A third-culture kid (TCK) is “someone who, as a child, has spent a significant period of time in one or more culture(s) other than his or her own, thus integrating elements of those cultures and their own birth culture, into a third culture.”

I am interested in this topic because I find it fascinating to imagine spending my childhood any place other than New Jersey. I know many children who have been/ are being raised as TCKs. I find TCKs to be quite interesting people who are usually living rather extraordinary lives.

Video #1: Click here to see the “Neither Here Nor There” trailer
Website for the movie: http://www.neitherherenorthere-thefilm.com/

Video #2: So Where’s Home? A Film about Third Culture Kid Identity

I also watched a marvelous video about a couple named Ian and Larissa – they got married even after the groom was in a terrible car accident leaving behind a man very different than the one Larissa once knew. You really need tissues nearby for this one!

From Larissa: “Marrying Ian meant that I was signing on to things that I donʼt think I ever wouldʼve chosen for myself — working my whole life, having a husband who canʼt be left alone, managing his caregivers, remembering to get the oil changed, advocating for medical care, balancing checkbooks, and on. The practical costs felt huge, and those didnʼt even touch on the emotional and spiritual battles that I would face.

But in light of all the practicals, and emotionals, it was so very simple: we love each other. And we love God. And we believe He is a sovereign and loving God who rules all things.”

The video is also available with subtitles in Spanish.

