Tags

, , , ,

We’re adjusting to life back in a quiet German village. We can hardly believe we were in Tokyo just the other day! Thankfully, it’s been rather easy to adjust except for the terrible jet lag. I already miss speaking Japanese and I’m thankful we’ll be back soon. In the meantime, the next few months are going to be very busy and exciting!

This past week Matthias and I celebrated two years of marriage. We spent our special day in Tokyo and enjoyed walking around Odaiba, ate an American-sized avocado burger at Kua’Aina overlooking Rainbow Bridge, and met up with old friends for a nabe dinner (traditional Japanese hot pot).

In front of Rainbow Bridge

Enjoying nabe and sashimi

It’s always fun to share our story of how we met in Japan –  we had to travel across the globe to find each other! Did I ever imagine I’d marry a German man and live in Germany and Japan? No way! I’m sure pretty as a kid I imagined I’d meet a nice guy at college, get married at 23, have lots and lots of kids, and live pretty close to my parents in New Jersey. Nope, instead I got married at 32, live halfway across the globe, and we don’t have any kids yet. God has surprised me many times, but his biggest one yet has been to bring me a sweet husband like Matthias.

Two years later,  I am happy to say that I love being married and I wouldn’t go back to being single for a million bucks. I am married to my best friend and it’s quite an adventure being Mrs. Matthias Krammel. Like the Carpenters song says, we’ve only just begun! I wonder what it’ll be like to be old and gray together, if God gives us that many years. ♡♡

An excellent wife who can find?
She is far more precious than jewels.
The heart of her husband trusts in her,
and he will have no lack of gain.
She does him good, and not harm,
all the days of her life.
— Proverbs 31:10-12

With one of our smallest wedding guests
One of my favorite pics – when I realized my 93-year old grandmother (who can barely speak) was singing along to “How Great Thou Art” ♩ ♪ ♫ ♬

Video of our honeymoon trip to Lancaster, PA, Costa Rica, & El Salvador

FYI, we highly recommend Costa Rica as a travel destination – it has everything!